top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYerusalem Work

ESL Dialogues for Muslims

ESL DIALOGUES

BY YERUSALEM WORK

© 2022




TABLE OF CONTENTS


VALUES

STRENGTHS

FAITH

WORK

ART

EXERCISE/FITNESS

BEAUTY

EDUCATION

TRAVEL/ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE

FEARS (PHOBIAS)




VALUES


AHMED: What’s most important to you?

MURAD: My family, their safety and well-being.

AHMED: What roles do you play in life that you deeply cherish?

MURAD: I am a husband and a father.

AHMED: How do you define success?

MURAD: Success is leaving the world in better condition than I found it.

AHMED: Do you have any regrets?

MURAD: I’ve made mistakes, but I have no regrets. I live my life to the fullest.

AHMED: What advice do you have for the youth?

MURAD: Don’t spend all day on a device. Go outside. Enjoy nature. Have a face-to-face conversation with someone you love. Don’t limit yourself to a portable screen.




STRENGTHS


NORA: What are your strengths?

DEBORAH: I’m organized and efficient. I pay attention to detail. I’m an excellent communicator. I’m an award-winning writer and a sought-after speaker.

NORA: What awards have you won?

DEBORAH: I won the Pulitzer Prize for my debut book of poetry. I have traveled throughout Europe and the United States on speaking tours. I enjoy delivering public speeches. I’m always up for a speaking engagement.

NORA: Do you work well under pressure?

DEBORAH: Yes, I have a strong track record of success in high-pressure situations. I meet deadlines and exceed expectations. I thrive in fast-paced environments. I am confident and dependable. I rise to the occasion.

NORA: What is one word that describes you in essence?

DEBORAH: Undaunted. I can face any challenge and succeed.

NORA: Wonderful. Thank you for answering my questions. I’ll contact you soon if we’re interested in moving forward with your application.

DEBORAH: Thank you for your time and consideration. I appreciate the opportunity to interview with you.




FAITH


MARYAM: I respect you, but I don’t understand your faith tradition. How can God be three, not one?

HIWOT: God is one in three persons.

MARYAM: In Islam, God is an absolute unity. Allah is one.

HIWOT: In Orthodox Christianity, Jesus is God and His humanity never parted from His divinity.

MARYAM: Woah! Slam on the brakes. That sounds like blasphemy. To elevate a human being to the status of God is a grave offense. In Islam, Isa, peace be upon him, is a revered prophet, but you worship a false god. You mistake a prophet, a person, for the Almighty, the God of all. Associating partners with Allah Subhanahu wa ta’ala is committing shirk, which is a major sin.

HIWOT: I can only hope the truth will reach you. May God soften your heart.

MARYAM: You’re the one with a veil over your heart. May Allah open the eyes of your heart. I care about you, but you’re misguided.

HIWOT: You’re the one who’s following deception.

MARYAM: Our religious divide is the source of a major wound, but I wish you well. Let’s agree to disagree.

HIWOT: Okay, I’m sure we can find common ground. We’re friends and neighbors.

MARYAM: I value your friendship, and I’m glad we live close to each other. I deeply admire your involvement in the interfaith community. I learn a lot from our get-togethers.

HIWOT: Our gatherings wouldn’t be the same without you. Thank you for bringing tea and for sharing your perspective.

MARYAM: Thank you for hosting our events. Hospitality is so important in our culture.

HIWOT: It’s my pleasure.




WORK


NICHOLE: Where do you work?

TAREQ: I’m an engineer. I live in Maryland and work in DC. What about you?

NICHOLE: I live and work in Maryland. I’m a statistician.

TAREQ: So, you work with numbers? It’s amazing how numbers tell stories.

NICHOLE: Yes, the right statistics can paint a picture and help shape policy. Policies should be data-driven.

TAREQ: I wish more political decisions were based on facts not fiction, on truth rather than bias.

NICHOLE: I’m in support of doing ample research before initiating change or establishing institutions. I hope to make an impact in the area of public health. That’s my mission, however modest my contribution.

TAREQ: I hope you succeed in your endeavors. You sound devoted to me.

NICHOLE: Thank you! I appreciate your positivity. Have a blessed day!

TAREQ: May Allah put barakah in it.




ART


LAYLA: I enjoy visiting art museums. I always learn something new. How did you hear about this current exhibit?

SARAH: I’m on the museum’s listserv. I receive email updates regularly about upcoming exhibits.

LAYLA: Oh, that’s wonderful. Remember to buy something from the gift shop as a souvenir. You can take art home.

SARAH: Yes, I curate a collection of artwork in my home. I’m always looking for ways to spice things up.

LAYLA: Who are some of your favorite visual artists?

SARAH: Rothko, Keith Haring, Gustav Klimt, and Georgia O’Keeffe.

LAYLA: Wow! You are so passionate. You have great taste. It looks like you appreciate boldness and simplicity.

SARAH: Yes, I do. Thanks! Their art matches my personality.

LAYLA: Please let me know if you have any questions about this new exhibit.

SARAH: Will do! Thank you.




EXERCISE/FITNESS


AMBER: I work out three to five times a week. I do cardio and lift weights. Yet, I have not shed a pound.

NADIA: What type of cardio do you do?

AMBER: I run three to five miles on the treadmill. I even do Bikram yoga. Unfortunately, that’s not enough.

NADIA: I think your problem is what you eat, not how much you work out. I’ve seen your IG posts. You’re always eating burgers and fries. That’s not a healthy combination.

AMBER: So, Instagram ratted me out.

NADIA: Weight loss is 90% diet and 10% exercise. Try reducing the amount of meat you eat. Eliminate sugar and carbs. Try a plant-based diet. Then, you’ll be well on your way to success.

AMBER: Can I still have dairy products?

NADIA: Yup, occasional dairy products are fine, like Greek yogurt. Otherwise, substitute Oat milk for regular milk and cook with avocado oil, not butter.

AMBER: Thanks for the advice. Any other tips?

NADIA: Yes, practice intermittent fasting. Eat two meals a day and fast for the rest of the day or night. Have a window of six to eight hours where you can consume food. Otherwise, just drink water.

AMBER: Do you skip a meal each day?

NADIA: Yes, I skip dinner. Some people skip breakfast. It’s up to you, but be consistent.

AMBER: I’ll use my skills from fasting for Ramadan to fast instead on a daily basis.

NADIA: Yes, be disciplined! Adhere to a routine.

AMBER: Will do, in shaa Allah. Thank you so much!

NADIA: Not a problem!




BEAUTY


HALIMA: Masha'Allah. She’s so beautiful!

SELAM: Everyone is beautiful.

HALIMA: I agree, but she is a natural beauty. She doesn’t need makeup or fancy clothes. She exudes style and grace.

SELAM: Yes, she’s radiant - a thousand points of light. Yet, her greatest strength is her modesty. She doesn’t draw attention to herself in a flashy way. Her clothes are elegant and well-kept without a high-price tag attached. I admire her for her simplicity and humility.

HALIMA: Me, too! She never wears heels. She always wears sensible shoes. She’s so comfortable in her own skin. I wish more people would embrace their authenticity instead of showing off their body and competing for attention in a superficial way.

SELAM: I’m in your camp. I couldn’t agree with you more.




EDUCATION


FAZIA: I have a law degree and I still struggle to make ends meet. You can be educated and live a life of service without much monetary reward. Blessings come in different ways.

AMAL: I earned a master’s degree in library science. I work at the Library of Congress. It’s my dream job, but the commute is killer. It’s the one aspect of my life that I wish I could change.

FAZIA: Yes, this area has terrible rush-hour traffic. I’m thankful I live within walking distance of the mosque where I work.

AMAL: Community service is powerful and transformative. You’re doing a great deed.

FAZIA: Thank you, sister! May Allah show us compassion.

AMAL: Amin!




TRAVEL/ISLAMIC ARCHITECTURE


NESIMA: I visited Spain and witnessed the Alhambra. It’s majestic. It truly humbled me.

HANAN: Yes, I’ve seen it, too. Islamic architecture can teach us all a lesson in humility.

NESIMA: I’m in awe of the grandeur.

HANAN: Look at how much Muslims have accomplished.

NESIMA: Islamic architecture is a lasting achievement.

HANAN: Islam has enduring values, like modesty, sincerity, taqwa, and tawhid.

NESIMA: The remembrance of Allah and the oneness of God are powerful principles to apply to everyday life. Daily, I pray with sincerity.

HANAN: So, do I. I’m happy you enjoyed your travels. Thank God you made it home safe.

NESIMA: Shukran! Amin, Habibti.

HANAN: Afwan, my beloved sister.




FEARS (PHOBIAS)


FATIMA: Why are you so afraid of Muslims? Islam is not to be feared, instead it should be embraced.

JULIE: I’m afraid because of the violence I see in the news.

FATIMA: The media portrays Islam in a negative light, but the Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, taught us not to harm ourselves or others. I want to introduce you to Islam out of love not fear.

JULIE: I’m honored that you’d share your faith with me. Would you like to have coffee or tea together?

FATIMA: Yes, you are welcome to my home. We can sip tea and discuss our worldviews.

JULIE: I’d be happy to visit you and learn more about your culture and background. Thank you for the opportunity. When can we meet up?

FATIMA: Does Sunday afternoon work for you?

JULIE: That fits perfectly with my schedule. Let’s confirm details closer to the date. Thanks again.

FATIMA: It’s my pleasure.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page